DELSU Honours Dedicated Staff For Quality Service

Prof Andy Ogochukwu Egwunyenga, right, handing over an award to one of the recipients

DELSU Honours Dedicated Staff For Efficient Service

Ovedhe Hezekiah.

As part of activities to commemorate the 30th anniversary and 14th convocation ceremony of Delta State University (DELSU), Abraka,  the Vice Chancellor of the University,  Prof. Andy Ogochukwu Egwunyenga,  on Thursday, April 28th, 2022, honoured staff that distinguished themselves with unwavering services and dedication to the institution.

The Vice Chancellor (VC), Prof. Andy Ogochukwu Egwunyenga, during the award ceremony held at the 1000 Lecture Theatre Hall of the institution, said the award was to celebrate those who have spent the better part of their lives dedicated to their duties in the service of the institution.

Prof. Egwunyenga said that, “Those honoured are some teaching and non-teaching staff that are dedicated to their duties and made substantial contributions towards achievement of the objectives and success of the institution.”

According to Prof. Egwunyenga: “I want to commend you all that will be given Awards today, for your immense contributions to the success story of DELSU.  Without you all, there will be no DELSU. Hence as a way of saying thank you to you all, the management of the institution felt it necessary to give you all Awards. This award will be continuous and I urge you all to put in your best so that you can merit this kind of award in future.”

“Those to be given Awards are personnel within the institution that distinguish themselves in teaching, research, non-teaching staff and excellence service delivery. The recognition was also meant to motivate other staff to improve the quality of their service.”

Those honoured are; Prof. Iwegbue C.M.A. Maxwell, Prof. Bradley Lawrence, Dr. Edward Felix Oghenemaro, Dr. Otobrise Charles,  Shaka E. Ochuko,  Sylvester Hitler, Okoro Emmanuel,  Mrs. Udeze Paulina, Mrs. Always Juliana, Mrs. Caroline Erhirhie, Mr. Andrew Okoruwa.

Others are Mr. Samsung Ejenavi, Solomon Jikeme, Okiemute Unusotame, Mr. Godday Akoojivi, Mrs. Onome Ojugo, Idudu Lucky, Ewrudje Felix, Okpara Roseline, and Ikuku.

The Vice Chancellor,  also elevated two of the awardees who were casual staff in the University to permanent staff due to their dedication to their duties.

In a swift response, two of the awardees, Prof. Iwegbue C.M.A. Maxwell, Prof. Bradley Lawrence, commended the management of the institution for finding them worthy of the honour. They said, they had always envisioned that the institution would be great when he joined the system.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here